CanHaem’s leadership includes an Executive Committee comprised of the Chair, Vice-Chair, Secretary and Treasurer, and also up to eleven board members who coordinate the work of the Association. In addition, oversight is provided by our Governance Committee. Much of our work in implementing our strategic plan is delegated to our subcommittees: Education, Nursing, and Peer Review.

Please see below for more information about the Board of Directors and our subcommittees.

Executive Members

I am the co-director of the sickle cell clinic at CHU Ste-Justine, the largest comprehensive pediatric sickle cell program in the province of Quebec, and the second largest in Canada.

I believe that knowledge transfer and education are key to improve the quality of care of patients with sickle cell disease.

Yves Pastore

M.D. Pediatric Hematologist F.M.H (Switzerland)

Chair, Board of Directors


Medical Lead of the Pediatric Comprehensive Hemoglobinopathy Program of Northern Alberta.

Our program goal is to promote health and wellbeing for pediatric patients with hemoglobinopathies.

We are dedicated to health (including health maintenance and preventative medicine), education (for patients, families, healthcare professionals, administration and the public) advocacy, and research.

Aisha Bruce


Vice-Chair, Board of Directors


I am the medical director and the principle physician of the adult Hemoglobinopathy program of British Columbia which is located at St. Paul’s hospital. I work as an associate professor of Hematology at UBC.

The program goal is to promote awareness of Hemoglobinopathies with particular attention to thalassemia and sickle cell disease. I do believe that comprehensive care through a multidisciplinary program of these patients will improve outcome. My main areas of interest are iron overload management especially in non-transfusion dependent hemoglobinopathies and sickle cell disease in aging population.

Hatoon Ezzat


Secretary, Board of Directors


Michael Leaker


Treasurer, Board of Directors


Board Members

Christine Chretien, BScN, RN 

Gloria Gallant, BN, RN  

Donald S. Houston, MD, PhD, FRCPC   

Heather McCartney, BScN, RN   

Ewurabena Simpson, MDCM, MPH, FRCPC 

Madeleine Verhovsek, BSc, MD, FRCPC

Molly Warner, MD



University of Manitoba

BC Children’s


McMaster University


Committee Chairs

Education Committee:

Governance and Nominating Committee: 

Nursing Committee:   


Peer Review Committee: 

Registry Committee:

Lauren Bolster, MD MEd

Robert Klaassen, MD FRCPC

Heather McCartney, BScN RN

Gloria Gallant, BN RN

Richard Ward,  MSc MRCP(UK) FRCPath(UK)

Yves Pastore, MD

University of Alberta Hospital


BC Children’s Hospital


University of Toronto

University of Montreal

CanHaem Website

CanHaem Webmaster: Catherine Corriveau-Bourque, MD                  University of Alberta

For content updates, please contact